How To: Make Your Makeup Look Great In Photos

Ever spend a good hour on your makeup slaving away only to get tagged in photos the next day and discover you looked like this?

METF12r

If this sounds like a bit of you, allow me to introduce you to my tips (that I had to learn the hard way) to get you loving your photos like..
giphy (3)

1. Spf is a no no.
Keep that girl for the beach only. SPF causes the dreaded “flashback” which is when the flash of the camera bounces off making you look like Casper’s wife.
Be sure to check your finishing powder for it!
Some foundations sneakily add SPF too, so be warned. The amount of times I’ve had flashback that I felt I didn’t deserve, was because my foundation had had it’s formula changed, without my consent.

tumblr_l5znxxrmfr1qasd8x-1
2. Do your makeup in natural lighting.
I feel like this is the best way to achieve a consistent look across all lighting, even fluorescent.
To show you an example, here’s a pic of me under fluorescent bulbs at a breast cancer awareness fundraiser.

original_url: DD350FDF-4D73-4D75-A3B1-A04040159776
 
I think the makeup looks all good here wbu?
Anyway..
If you’re doing your makeup in the evening and don’t have a fancy ring light (I don’t either) then I just check my “base makeup” (what I like to call my foundation + concealer + contour +powder) under different lights in the house.
You know how sometimes you look sweet in the bathroom mirror, but then in the kitchen or bedroom it’s completely different? Yeah.
Am I over-thinking it? Maybe. But hey, you wanted to know.

tenor

3. Not to prime, is a crime honey.
Priming is pretty key even if you’re not expecting photo ops.
But to skip the primer here means any bumps and lines are sure to rear their annoying heads in those bright lights.
The best primers feel soft and smooth once applied on my skin, kind of like a silicone feel.
My favourite is the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Skin Transformer Primer.
Let it soak in and warm with your skin before applying foundation. This may mean you have to take more time but the results will speak for themselves.
tenor (1)

4. Don’t go too light.
It’s best to find under eye concealer that’s one shade lighter than your foundation for subtle dimension but sustain full blown coverage.
My favourite concealer Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circle Treatment

5. Opt for both.
If you choose between blush and bronzer, it will make you look flat.
Bronzer frames the face and blush is for them apples on your cheeks.
Dabble in both, but don’t get too heavy with it.
Remember, it’s best to add a little and if more is needed, go ahead. It’s easier to build than take away.
Baby-Shovels-Dirt-onto-Face
If you do need to lessen the impact, grab a little bit of skin toned powder to blend the blush and bronzer together.

6. Fake it, girl.
Falsies always make your eyes look complete on film.
If you feel like the traditional banded lashes are a bit “too much”, opt for individual falsies and place them on the outer edges for a more natural definition.

false-eyelashes-conan

I hope these tips have been helpful and not telling you shit you already know.
Let me know your best tips in the comments I wanna hear ’em!

Keep being you!

Megan xx

tumblr_inline_n9jqtwyhez1qhtmig

Megan is the CEO of Maverick Cosmetica
Maverick is a New Zealand online makeup store out of Megan’s home on the beautiful Kāpiti Coast.
All orders $50+ receive FREE shipping NZ wide
Buy any 2 Antipodes products + receive a free Reincarnation exfoliator or Grace facial cleanser while stocks last xx

5 thoughts on “How To: Make Your Makeup Look Great In Photos

  1. This is super helpful. I hate when I look in the mirror, love my look, but then it doesn’t look at great in photos! Thank you for sharing! I love your content and I’m looking forward to reading your future posts.

    Come visit some time!

    💗, Mena from noirerewritten.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

