Kids + Makeup = ?

Spending time on Social Media has become an essential part of my job.
I start to notice patterns and trends, and one of these recurring themes is of little ones doing makeup looks.

You have probably seen Bella before on Facebook or Instagram.
I’ve read a couple of articles about this gorgeous girl and her talent. I reckon it is absolutely fantastic when you see little ones finding a passion for something.
I think it is crucial to support anyone when they find an interest, especially children as I believe fostering hobbies when you’re young helps shape you and give you a sense of purpose when you’re older.

For some it’s music, art, writing or sports.
When I was younger, I loved writing creatively and would relish the times allocated by teachers for “Sustained Silent Reading” and creative writing tasks.
My parents fully supported and encouraged me in this and I believe it is extremely important to be aware of what you are good at in life.
In the past, I allowed myself to forget my good qualities and that positive mental attitude is very hard to gain back once lost, so instilling it in others is very important to me.

To see young ones, boys and girls alike, having fun with makeup is fucking awesome!

But it did make me think. How would I feel if my own child started nicking my makeup?

Aside from the fact that this could get very expensive

makeup-toddler

I also can’t help but think about the risks involved with posting pictures of children on the internet.

As I’m not (yet) a parent, maybe some will think I’m not qualified to comment.
But I also believe that it is somewhat naive to turn a blind eye to the dangers of posting online. It is so easy for people to simply Screen Shot and then they have that image for whatever purpose they want.

I think that with anything, you can’t let fear hold you back from living your life the way you want to. But when there’s another person involved, doesn’t it stop being solely about you and any consequences won’t affect just you?

I don’t believe there is such a thing as “too young for makeup”. It should be fun and it could be a great way to bond with your little one.
But I do believe in being careful.

I don’t think posting pictures of your kid in makeup directly equals being a bad parent. I just don’t really understand why it is necessary. Let them play and show off to family and friends but why post publicly online unless you are getting a bit of limelight for yourself at your child’s expense?

Hopefully, one day, I will have a little one of my own and if they want to play with makeup then that will be absolutely fine. If they want to take selfies and video themselves doing tutorials then they will definitely be supported.
However, to post these publicly online? Probably not.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

Keep being you

Megan xx

Megan is the CEO of Maverick Cosmetica
Maverick is a New Zealand online makeup store out of Megan’s home on the beautiful Kāpiti Coast.
All orders $50+ receive FREE shipping NZ wide
Buy any 2 Antipodes products + receive a free Reincarnation exfoliator or Grace facial cleanser while stocks last xx

Leave a Reply

